A Powerful Realisation: 22nd April 2009

I remember the 22nd April 2009 National and Provincial Elections like it was yesterday. Having voted the previous day, I did not vote with the masses on the 22nd. However, I was fortunate enough to be afforded an opportunity to be present at a certain voting station in Atteridgeville, Pretoria and that opportunity brought forth a powerful realisation.

I felt an unusual pride at the dignified demeanour of the voters; the unifying mass action taken by my people. As I felt the pride within spreading to every part of my being, my eyes caught those of a woman emerging from a voting booth. In that moment, as I looked into the woman’s eyes, I saw a reflection of my own hopes, dreams, fears and desires for South Africa. That’s when it hit me, the realisation that despite the differences between us, we all want the same thing; a better future for ourselves, our siblings, our children and all those who are close to our hearts- a better future for South Africa.

It is with that realisation that the enormity of what I had been a part of the previous day- when voting, hit me. With a simple mark, I had become a part of determining all our futures; but most importantly, I had become a part of steering the destiny of South Africa, my country, my land…

Leave a Reply

About Koketso Moeti

Mother. Campaigner. Political orphan. Blogger. Activator. Part time professional black. Liker of things. Lover of people. No sense of humour.